top of page

May Update!

So I have FINALLY dialed this puppy in. Finally managed to figure out the issue of the non-idling / stalling bike. The one carburetor in question's pilot (idle) jet must've been dirty or clogged because I took it out, hit it with carb cleaner, put it back in and voila. Started right up and idled perfectly at 1,000 RPM. Kind of infuriating that it was that easy to fix but at least it's fixed right?

My only other issues would probably be a slightly noisy cam chain. Loosened the tensioner but heard nothing (not sure if it's supposed to make a noise or something as it releases/tightens). It takes bumps really rather rough. So I will be investigating the front forks and rear cushion in the coming weeks. Other than that, she runs a little hot after about 30 minutes. Going to check the plugs again soon and see if they'll tell me anything.

The neutral light has also started malfunctioning because it stays on all the time. But when I move the bulb from behind, it turns off. Must be touching metal to metal on the casing and screwing up the grounding or something. Not super concerned.

Anyways, just happy that it's "healthy" for now! Hope to get some serious mileage out of it this summer before needing any major work done! Just bought a grease gun today so I can grease that clutch adjuster and rear swingarm.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page