top of page

Mid-April Update

Haven't posted in a while which is fine because no one's reading this anyway. Bike's been running fairly well but I still run into some stalling and idling issues from time to time. Still working with and adjusting the carb in question. I also have a slight concern that the engine is running too hot.

I checked the compression yesterday and I was relieved to find it to be GREAT. 150+ on both sides. My concern was that age and neglect was going to reveal that one or both pistons/walls were damaged. So I thought everything was fine.... until I checked the spark plug on the right cylinder. See image below. I'm hoping it's carbon fouled because I can just adjust the mixture but I'm thinking it looks more like oil fouled meaning there's oil getting into the combustion chamber. Going to replace the plug, check the oil level, and lean out the carb mix on that side and see what happens. I hope to check my ignition timing and points this afternoon as well, since I don't think I'm getting the most power out of it. Also enjoy the photo of me below spilling the oil out of my bike and onto my driveway because the drain plug fell into the oil funnel/recepticle and blocked drainage so it just overflowed everywhere. FAIL.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page