top of page

Front Tire On?

FINALLY got my Heidenau K60 Scout front tire mounted (properly, grrr) on the rim (thanks to the guys over at Honda - Cross Country PowerSports) and put back on my bike. Keeping with the 2 steps forward, 1 step back theme of this project, upon tightenting the axle holders, I realized that 1 of the 4 nuts was only going on about 90% of the way and then spinning in place. I took it off and it was all stripped and messed up inside, most likely cross threading. So I went and got a new pack of nuts (I can't talk about nuts without laughing) only to find that the bolt/stud itself had shallow or damaged threads. So after I panicked for about 15 minutes about how the wheel was going to fall off mid-ride, I examined an old schematic of the front fork and saw that the stud coming out the fork is REMOVABLE and therefore REPLACEABLE! Safety regained. I ordered new bolts and nuts. Better safe than sorry, no shortcuts, etc.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page