top of page

REASSEMBLE JOHNNY 5!

Ok, so much to catch up on. The weather was finally about 40 degrees and I pretty much had everything ready to be put back on that I took off, so we went for it. I knew there were two problems ahead: 1) a stuck double threaded bolt in the front axle holder and 2) how would the reinstalled carburetor behave now? Both of which would not be resolved until Thursday (my next post).

With the help of my buddy Quinn, we were able to blow through a lot of things on my list.

1. I replaced the fuel line that had bite marks in it and was leaking. We reinstalled the carb and turned the gas on, no leaks!

2. Tested the lights and electrical and the left turn signal had an issue. Some loose/faulty wiring to blame, a few taps and some tape and we were in business.

3. The screws to the camshaft(?) looked to be borderline stripped and were on tight so I had to skip my examination of the chain and its travel path.

4. Wrapped exhuast in 2" black exhaust wrap and reinstalled on bike. (Old crush gaskets came out easily and new ones fit in nice and tight)

We could not get the bolt out and it was too late at night to start it up to test the reinstalled carb.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page