top of page

Front Tire Removal

So my new front tire finally arrived! I went with a 100/90-19 Heidenau K60 Scout. I'm PRAYING that this will fit in place of the original 3.25" X 19 tire, because it looks a decent size wider than what I took off of it. Worst case, I'll just take the front fender off, right? I mean, who needs a front fender anyway?

ANYWAY, this was worse than what I assume giving birth would be like. First, while I was learning how to disassemble the front wheel section, the motion sensor light I was working under kept turning off at the worst times. Second, once I got the tire off, I put the new one in between the forks to see what it will look like and it's gonna be TIGHT. So that will be interesting because there are no knobby tires that I like that come in the next size down (YIKES). Third, I brought the tire inside and started to prep my tools to get it off the rim. Holy hell – This. Was. Hard. The tire was so old and corroded/rusted/dry-rotted to the rim, that I could barely get one tire spoon in, let alone two. The saving grace ended up being a tip from JC at Motorcycle Superstore to use WINDEX as a lubricant for the spoons. It made the rust and rot really gross and muddy but it worked. So after about 2.5 hours, a sore back, elbow, and sweat beading off my forehead, I got the sucker off the rim. I hope it doesn't take that much to get the new one on or I may never actually get to ride this thing...

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page