top of page

Emotional Roller Coaster

So, today was the day I hoped to make my maiden voyage first ride. Sadly, it would not be so, but I knew deep down it's better to be safe and do things the right way.

I still could not get the bolt off with heat and penetrating oil and vice grips. Regardless, the replacement bolt was supposed to arrive but did not. Would be 1 day late so it wouldn't have been ready to ride anyway. It was only with the help later in the afternoon of my friend Steve who explained to me that it was really in there but because it's double ended/threaded and pointing down, that it's actually "upside down and backwards" and needed to be turned to the RIGHT instead of LEFTY LOOSEY. So that was upsetting to say the least but fuck it. He got it out and that's all that mattered. Literally turned my frown upside down. So happy about that and I didn't have to go buy some $30+ tool.

Before that happened though, I was having MAJOR issues with the carburetor I reinstalled. The leak was fixed but when I throttled it up manually, it was bogging down and hesitating and then catching and revving super high. (When I tried on the other carb it was perfectly responsive and in great shape, so I knew something was really wrong with this one).

Since it was already reinstalled, I removed the float bowl several times to make float and needle adjustments, gasoline everywhere, failing to get the gasket to sit correctly because it was upside down and wanting to fall out. Total nightmare and I was quickly getting discouraged. I REALLY wanted to give up and say fuck it but I pressed on and after two hours and a billion different carb adjustments, I got it to idle steadily and continuously. The carb is still hesitating and bogging down but not as bad and I think it's still good enough to ride at least a few times before getting it properly checked out.

I tested first gear while it was up on the stand and that seemed to work fine and the rear tire spun well. Once Steve got the bolt out of the front, I was pissed the replacement part didn't show up like it was supposed to because I technically could've ridden it even though it had gotten much cooler out and windy.

So the last few steps are to put my license plate on, reinstall the front axle holder bolt and tighten that whole section up, replace the seat, then make sure the brakes are working properly and then I think it will be good for a few spins around the block! Hopefully Saturday or Sunday.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page